How do I know when my tank is fully cycled?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Water' started by cheesepuff, Jul 18, 2015.

1. cheesepuff

cheesepuff Well Known Member Member

So my tank has yet to go through a full cycle. I'm still kinda new to this. I gave it a dose of the starter bacteria to get things going about 2 days ago. I have read the nitrogen cycle sticky (still kinda trying to understand it all)

how will I know when my tank is fully cycled?

2. Rivieraneo

Rivieraneo Moderator Moderator Member

Simple, your filter acts somewhat like a septic tank or the good bacteria in your stomach. Your filter holds media that bacteria attach itself to. These bacteria are known as nitrosomona and nitrobacter. One uses ammonia as food for energy, the other nitrite. So when your fish produce ammonia, one set of bacteria oxidizes the ammonia and converts it to nitrite, your second set oxidizes nitrite and turns it into nitrate.

You know your tank is cycled when it has 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, and between 10-40ppm of nitrate.

3. OP
    OP
    cheesepuff

cool. So just keep doing water tests every few days till I achieve those specs? I have the API mater test kit coming in on Tuesday.

4. Rivieraneo

Rivieraneo Moderator Moderator Member

Test your tap water first after using a dechlorinator to see if your tap water already has ammonia, nitrite or nitrate in it. This will allow you to form a base line. Usually, your ammonia will spike, the gradually start to come down while your nitrites spike. Eventually in a few weeks, ammonia and nitrite will level off to 0.

5. OP
    OP
    cheesepuff

Currently my water specs are as such

Nitrate 5 ppm

Ammonia 0.25 ppm

Nitrite 0.25 ppm

PH 8.2 through 8.4

I'm kind of worried about the pH. The alkalinity of the water is far too high for the fish I have. I have driftwood in the tank, but obviously that's not enough.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

6. DanB80TTS

DanB80TTS Well Known Member Member