How Do I Breed Electric Blue Crayfish?

Discussion in 'Crayfish - Crawfish' started by BettaFishKeeper4302, Mar 21, 2019.

1. BettaFishKeeper4302Well Known MemberMember

I don’t know how many times I’ve said I wanted to breed a fish, but now I am really really wanting to breed electric blue crayfish. I’ve been saying I want a crayfish lately but I just haven’t gotten one yet. I think they’re really interesting and cool. Been seeing a lot of youtubers here breed them here lately. Can anyone give me advice and instructions?

2. CanaculusWell Known MemberMember

Step #1. Buy crayfish ;)
    Step #2. Put em in the same tank
    Step #3. Wait

DISCLAIMER: I am not an expert so I don't know if that's OK or not.

@Katie13 do you breed crayfish?

3. Katie13Fishlore VIPMember

My male and female got moved into the same 29g, but at this time, no, I don’t breed them.

4. BettaFishKeeper4302Well Known MemberMember

I mean, that’s quite obvious.

5. Katie13Fishlore VIPMember

First off, don’t breed anything you don’t have experience keeping.

6. BettaFishKeeper4302Well Known MemberMember

Keeping what? Fish? I’ve been keeping fish for two years now, the only thing I’ve bred guppies.

7. BettaFishKeeper4302Well Known MemberMember

I briefly know how the process goes, the crayfish have to be the same size, the male has to get on top of the female, they do there thing, take the male out, eggs start to form under the females tail. What do I do with the babies? Move them to another tank/breeder box?

8. Katie13Fishlore VIPMember

Basically, if you’ve never kept Crayfish then don’t breed them. Don’t breed any species you don’t have experience with.

9. GuanchyWell Known MemberMember

If you inform yourself well, read, ask questions, watch videos etc (which you are doing) i dont see why not breed them even if you havent kept them before. As long as you learn what to do, how to properly care for them and you have a plan for tons of babies, you should be good :)