How Do I Breed Electric Blue Crayfish?

FishWithTim

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I don’t know how many times I’ve said I wanted to breed a fish, but now I am really really wanting to breed electric blue crayfish. I’ve been saying I want a crayfish lately but I just haven’t gotten one yet. I think they’re really interesting and cool. Been seeing a lot of youtubers here breed them here lately. Can anyone give me advice and instructions?

Cheesecake

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Step #1. Buy crayfish
Step #2. Put em in the same tank
Step #3. Wait

DISCLAIMER: I am not an expert so I don't know if that's OK or not.

Katie13 do you breed crayfish?

Katie13

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Canaculus said:
Step #1. Buy crayfish
Step #3. Wait

My male and female got moved into the same 29g, but at this time, no, I don’t breed them.

OP
FishWithTim

FishWithTim

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Canaculus said:
Step #1. Buy crayfish
Step #3. Wait

I mean, that’s quite obvious.

Katie13

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
First off, don’t breed anything you don’t have experience keeping.

OP
FishWithTim

FishWithTim

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Katie13 said:
First off, don’t breed anything you don’t have experience keeping.
Keeping what? Fish? I’ve been keeping fish for two years now, the only thing I’ve bred guppies.

I briefly know how the process goes, the crayfish have to be the same size, the male has to get on top of the female, they do there thing, take the male out, eggs start to form under the females tail. What do I do with the babies? Move them to another tank/breeder box?

Katie13

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Basically, if you’ve never kept Crayfish then don’t breed them. Don’t breed any species you don’t have experience with.

Guanchy

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years