• 5 gallons

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 6-10 gallons

Votes: 4 36.4%
  • 10+ gallons

Votes: 7 63.6%

• Total voters
Kymopoleia
I have a 5g tank with no heater and a carbon filter. The water currently is pretty stable at about room temperature. I also have an adf as a tankmate. I'm assuming this could be problematic, but I have no breeding experience.
Any other guppy breeding advice would be great.
Thanks!

Advertisement
Daniodude
If you want to breed them I would get some live plants, and give them lots of cover.

Advertisement
redmare
I kept 5 male guppies in a 5.5 gallon when that was all I could keep in my dorm room. They did okay, but they were so active I really wish I had them in a 10 or more. They used every inch of the tank! They didn't live as long as they should have either, but that may have had other factors as well including moving them home from uni.

Kymopoleia
Thank you so much!
We have a male right now, but we were looking to buy a female. The aquabid fish were pretty expensive, and the less expensive ones came in pairs.
Do you recommend any other sites?

redmare
Thank you so much!
We have a male right now, but we were looking to buy a female. The aquabid fish were pretty expensive, and the less expensive ones came in pairs.
Where are you from? There's lots in the states (that I can't use because Canada) to choose from. If by chance you are in Canada, I ordered from shrimp fever (they do have fish) and they were great, and I've heard a lot of good about angelfins

AquaCaitlin
Thank you so much!
Are you looking for a particular breed? (Also you will need 3 females. If you just get 1 or 2 the male will stress them, chasing them constantly)

Advertisement

Kymopoleia
, thank you so much! I'll look into buying more, and can I buy from angelfins or shrimp fever from the US?

redmare
I'm not sure, look into it!

Gone
If you just have one 5G tank, you won't get very far breeding guppies.