How Bad Is It Really/not My Tank

1. F

Fal Valued Member Member

So, curious to know what everyone thinks!

My housemate has a tank. Imo its in pretty bad condition, but I'm pretty new to the hobby myself, so I'm not sure how bad it really is.

Thought I'd share to get some opinions, and possibly better equip myself to persuade him to use a bit more care...

So here is the stats:

-35g long
    -2 filters - 290l (per hr?) Hang on and 550l/ph canister.
    -No heater
    -Water change- 30ish% per month
    -Packed with fake plants and random log that still has spiderwebs on it.
    -brown algae thats been there for months.

Stocking:
    -2 silver angelfish
    -green severum
    -2 blue gourami
    -clown loach
    -red jewel cichlid
    -Elliot's cichlid

Anyways feel free to share any opinions u want! Thanks everyone!

2. kayla.s

kayla.s Well Known Member Member

Oh goodness... heavily over stocked... not enough water changes :( and those fish really need heaters

3. NavigatorBlack

NavigatorBlack Fishlore VIP Member

It's a work in progress... as those fish grow, bad things will happen. The severum is way too large for that tank, even alone. As is the clown loach, a future foot long fish.
    The jewel should soon kill the peaceful elliotti, and then everything else unless the loach uses its razor spine.

In a perfect world, when the guts settle, the elliotti and the two gouramis should be alive, as they are fine with no heater.

4. OP
    OP
    F

Fal Valued Member Member

With his luck i bet they will live way longer than they should too.
    This is his smaller angel, if u can see its condition through the algae... 20170805_223751.jpg
    Its been like that for a long time...

5. kayla.s

kayla.s Well Known Member Member

Would be interesting to know what the water parameters are...

6. OP
    OP
    F

Fal Valued Member Member