Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Chaz

Reaction score
so I’m saving up for a tank and here’s what I’m planning on doing
It’s a 29 gallon freshwater tank. (30L 12W 18H) with Live plants and some sort of bigger rock structure. Filtered.

Fish
1 neon blue dwarf gourami
2 Cherry barbs
10 different assorted neon tetra ( the basic Neon tetra, Gold neon tetra, black neon tetra, glow light tetra, and blue tetra )

If you need the links here is the website that I’m looking at them at. Also seen them in person before.

LiveAquaria.com

I also want to get a couple shrimp and a snail or two! Let me know some good breeds to go in this tank snail and shrimp wise. Or if there would be a cool fish that would work well in the tank!
Also looking for plants!! I’m new to the live plants so any information or suggestions is helpful!

Katie13

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
The Cherry Barbs need a school of at least 6, and so do the tetras. You listed many different species. Those “neon” are all different, not the same fish in different morphs. I would pick one (2 if you don’t get the cherry Barbs) and get 6-8 of them.

Crispii

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Cherry barbs do best in group of 6+.

Fahn

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
1) keep 6+ of any small schooling fish; not only does this encourage them to be more active but also reduces stress and aggression
2) those are not different types of neon tetra, the blacks, glowlights, and blues are completely different species
3) in a 29 I would either get a school of the cherry barbs or a school of the neons. 2 small schools might be ok but one larger school would be ideal (8-12 individuals)
4) with the dwarf gourami shrimp will be at risk of being eaten, but you may be able to keep Neocarina such as Cherries or Blue Dreams, and ghost shrimp
5) most snails will be good for a tank that size, a bristlenose pleco would also be a great bottom feeder addition