Housing Dwarf Gouramis

Danni524

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
So, I’m new to housing DGs and currently have 2 of them in a 5 gallon tank. The lady at the pet store I talked to said that I could house two no problem in the tank I have. She said they are a bit territorial but are the same size so it shouldn’t be an issue. However, I’ve had them for almost two weeks now and one is chasing the other all around the tank. It isn’t biting the other but is pushing him around. I tried adding more plants to give more hiding places and it helped a bit, but at this point I think the tank is too little and don’t want to have the “victI'm fish” to have to continue to live like this. Ido have a bit of money to get a new tank. Right now the biggest I could afford is a 10 gallon. Is that big enough for them or should I get another 5 gallon and separate them or should I keep them in the 5 gallon for now and save for a bigger tank? (one is silver with very light orange dots and the other is all orange except for the head. I also think they might be two males) also I know I should have done more research before bringing them home, but the place I went to has never given false information before. I usually keep bettas but I had one died suddenly from a tumor and wanted to try something new.

PascalKrypt

Well Known
Reaction score
Oh boy. A 5 gallon is too small for a single dwarf, let alone two.

Could you post a picture of the dwarfs? From your description, it sounds like you have a male and a female. If you have two males though, you would need at least a 40 gallon tank to keep them together without risk. Male dwarfs have been known to kill one another even with ample space. The lady at your pet store doesn't know what she is talking about.

If you have a pair, you may be able to keep them in a 15 or 20 gallon (I would skip the 10 for a bit of extra space, it'll be worth it).

OP
Danni524

Danni524

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
PascalKrypt said: