High temperatuer killing goldfish?

1. LWormy Member Member

Hello! One of my goldfish mysteriously died this morning. She have no visible injury, disease, etc. The only symptom she shows is long stringy poop that I think might be camalanus worm. I dosed the tank with levamisole yesterday and she died today. The temperature for the past 2 days are pretty high. The water hit 79 degree F today. Could that have killed my fish? It is a common goldfish btw. She is kept with a fantail in a 32 gallon tank. There are no ammonia or nitrite and about 10 nitrate. I read that temp close to 80 degree is dangerous to goldfish, but could that have kill them that fast? My other fantail goldfish seems sluggish and listless. I am trying to lower the temp with ice bottles because I don't have a fan or anything. Please help! I don't want my other fish to die too!

2. poeticinjustices Well Known Member Member

I am not an expert but I highly doubt a temperature of 79F would kill a goldfish. In fact, fancy goldfish actually prefer warmer water. I keep mine about 75F and 79F really isn't all that warm.

I mean, if you had no oxygenation then that would be an issue in warmer water but goldfish have been known to survive in both freezing temps and temps in the 90s with enough aeration.

Was the temp swing very severe or sudden? Have you checked to make sure there weren't any pH swings? I don't know if medication could affect that. I really have no idea why he would have that reaction.

I do know these fish lived a very poor life prior to you, and perhaps that weakened them. Many medications can be stressful on a fish and I know another member mentioned in your other thread seeing listlessness and lethargy after dosing the medication. It's possible the poor thing just couldn't handle it :(

The white stringy poops could have been infection OR stress from medication/infection. Either way, is it possible he just could not handle the stress of medication on top of everything else?