High PH- newbie here

Fish5234

Hi, first off thank you for taking the time to read this post. A few days ago, my ammonia went to 4.0 ppm and PH was at 8.8 and I had a pretty close call with my fish- but they are all ok and moved into a temporary holding tank. My tank is about 7 weeks ago and I also made the mistake of changing the filter a few days before the cycle crashed. I've since done a 60% water change, bringing the ammonia level down to 0.5 ppm but the PH is still 8.8 ppm (from the tab its only 6.8 ppm). Earlier today I also removed everything from the tank with the exception of the gravel and the silk plants to be tested to see if there is limestone and if these items could be driving the PH up. The PH in the tank still reads 8.8 and there is no indication that the decor or gravel is causing the PH to rise. I did put Ick Guard into my tank the day is crashed but the filter has been running for 4 days now. Two questions, if the low ammonia and PH at 8.8 is it safe to put my fish back into the tank and is there anything else I should consider looking into to identify the high PH.

Mongo75

You may want to read my post in your other thread (Toxic Tank- Please Help | 460255 | Freshwater Fish Disease and Fish Health).

The only thing I can think of trying, would be to remove everything, including your substrate, do a huge WC with the right temp water, then put your fish back into the tank. Over the next few days, monitor your pH to see if it goes back up, and your ammonia to make sure the fish are safe.

Right now, your fish need to be in a filtered, heated, and cycled (or cycling) environment.

You may also want to rethink your filter. The Aqueon Quietflow 10 you have is for a 10 gallon or less tank, and not suitable for your 20 gallon, especially with your stocking level. I would recommend a Tidal, Aquaclear, or any other filter that used a media basket rather than cartridges.

Upvote 0

Ghelfaire