High Nitrate levels Help

1. Michaela Initiate Member

:;hi1 Hello all, I am new to this forum but not especially new to fish keeping - altho I'm not entirely sure what I'm doing most of the time. I have a 125 litre trpoical freshwater tank with approx 20 - 25 fish in it, comprising Zebra Danios, a couple or so guppies, 4 Gouramis and some rather large cat fish. My tank has some plants but not many. The guppies breed every now and then so occasionally I may find a baby lurking amongst the greenery. I feed a flake food once a day and sinking pellets for the catfish. Anyway I have a API freshwater master testing kit which I use regularly. All is well with PH around 7.2, Ammonia 0, Nitrite, 0 but horror I have found my nitrate to be around 60 ish!. I know this is too high, firstly should I do daily 20% water changes (at present I do them every two weeks) or secondly is it better to buy something to reduce the Nitrate a.s.a.p. all fish seem ok, except 1 of the guppies seems a little unwell. Can anyone help? - many thanks in advance :;thx

2. Meenu Fishlore VIP Member

Hi and welcome to FL!

I'd say do a 50% change every couple of days until it is back down.

Also, although you say you don't know about the nitrogen cycle, you seem to be doing well. You should read the link.

3. Lucy Moderator Moderator Member

Hi welcome to FishLore :)
    Have all those fish been in the tank for 2 years?
    In your aquarium info, it says your nitrate are 10, but your post says 60?

Water changes will bring your nitrates down, you don't have to use products to do that.
    My suggestion would be to do a 50% change today, if your pH is the same from tap to tank. If it's not, 2 25% changes will be safe.
    Repeat tomorrow, that should bring you down closer to the 15ppm range.

You might want to change your water routine to weekly if your nitrsates are creepy up to 60 in two weeks.

Best of luck!

4. dvc_r Well Known Member Member