Hi , Thank You And Help!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by Suzannah, Apr 3, 2019.

1. SuzannahNew MemberMember

Hello everyone and thank you for welcoming me. I am married, have 3 kids and am a rookie fish keeper and looking for some help, if possible.
    I have been keeping freshwater tanks for the last 6 years.
    I had a 55 gallon with blind caves, silver dollars, Cory Cat’s, balloon molly and a pearl gourami. I found a good home for my fish and gave the tank away.
    Currently, I have 3 goldfish (2 comet and 1 fancy...I think) that my kids won at a fair in 2013. I know a 20 gallon tank is not big enough for these guys, but that is what I have them in. One of the fish has had a slow growing white spot on his head. I have tried to attach pix. I am hoping you guys might be able to help me identify it and give me advice on how to treat it.
    Many thanks in advance☺️Suzannah

Attached Files:

2. FanaticFishlore VIPMember

3. AJEFishlore VIPMember

Welcome to fish lore

4. SuzannahNew MemberMember

Tank

What is the water volume of the tank? 20 gallons
    How long has the tank been running? 5 years
    Does it have a filter? Yes
    Does it have a heater? No
    What is the water temperature? 73-ish
    What is the entire stocking of this tank? (Please list all fish and inverts.)
    3 goldfish ( I think 2 comet and one fancy). They were bait fish that my kids won at a carnival in 2013.

Maintenance
    How often do you change the water? once every 2 weeks
    How much of the water do you change? Half to 1/3
    What do you use to treat your water? Prime and aquarium salt
    Do you vacuum the substrate or just the water? Substrate

*Parameters - Very Important
    Did you cycle your tank before adding fish? Yes
    What do you use to test the water?i took it in to our local fish store and had them test the water
    What are your parameters? We need to know the exact numbers, not just “fine” or “safe”. I don’t know currently

Ammonia: