Hi! Newbie here :) Black Moor rescue

TeeSki

Hi. I am a relative noob to aquariums and fish. There was a very sick and neglected Black Moor at my wirksite who I have adopted. I have named it Gorgeous George, though I suspect it is female by body-shape, as they have gotten healthier. I had no idea how long they can live!

Tank was a high half moon 10 gallon with spiderwood. No air or filtration running, extreme algae, and the fish, about 4" body (not counting tail) length was stranded in about 5" of that water and getting gashed on the spiderweb.

Had severe finrot (mostly cured monitoring new growth and for any signs of repeat. Had horrific ich, severe swim bladder disease, and parasites, flukes you name it. Still has major popeye issues, though have treated internally with Kanaplex and Focus in food and epsom salts in the water. I also use aquarium salts to about a 2.0 ppm concentration. Could use some advice there!

George is currently in a 10gal long tank in my kitchen. I am pi king up a 39 gal tank in the next week or so. As a note, the old tall tank is running with some feeder goldfish and snails and has just completed the nitrogen cycle, so will be using some of the substrate and extra floss I tucked in the filter to try to speed this hospital tank now that I can confirm the other tank is safe and free of disease.

Just added Parzipro for the flukes flashing. Did a 90% water change before, using tank thermometer to guarantee the same water temp.

Have done a ton of reading here and decided to join.

I feel like I have done a very good job of learning and providing the best meds, care, etc. The only issue is the nitrite-nitrate cycle being so sluggish with the massive water changes to keep up with the ammonia his waste creates.