Hi! New Here :)

Dray

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hi!

I'm new to post on Fishlore, though I admit I've been reading the forum for advice for quite some time. I've kept community and semi-aggressive tropical fish for about 15 years. For the last three years, I've had a 90-gallon bow front. Until the center support bracket snapped off.

67197017_10219545452009814_7213190418769379328_n.jpg

This is actually the second time I've gone through this, but the first time I found a perfect match on Craigslist to replace the tank and was able to just transfer everything over in one day and continue on. This time, no such luck. Drained the tank before it exploded, rehomed all my fish, and let it sit there broken and sad for two months while I waffled about what to do next: Fix it somehow? Upgrade? Downgrade? Drop the hobby altogether??

Today, I took it out to the curb and brought home this 130-gallon monster instead!

67414129_10219546693840859_474296988003729408_o.jpg

It needs a bit of work before it's ready to fill:

- Repaint the stand and canopy (keeping it black)
- Paint the back of the tank
- Figure out if I can rig up my existing Fluval FX4 canister to the pre-cut holes in the bottom of the tank. (It came with a canister filter ready to rig up, but it looks pretty small and I just bought my FX4 like 6 months ago.) If not, I'll have to seal the holes and cut into the back of the stand to route the tubes the traditional way. Really hope I don't have to do that. I like the idea of making the filtration less conspicuous and keeping the tank nearly flush against the wall.
- Add a powerhead/wave maker to ensure adequate surface agitation
- Fit some glass or light diffuser to cover the open gap in the back of the canopy
- Swap out the fluorescent lighting for LED (sooner or later)