Hi I'm new with a few questions

1. freak78 Well Known Member Member

Just started up a 20 gallon fresh water aquarium after doing alot of research and reading. I set everything up and let the tank run for 72 hours with nothing in it. Saturday I decided to get 6 zebra danois to help kick off the cycling process for a new tank. So far as of today my tank water has a slight hazy look so I think this mean's I'm on the right track. The Zebra's look to be in good health still and are very energetic. I'm only feeding them in the morning with just enough food for them to eat. Don't want alot of extra food floating around. There a fun fish to watch I must say. Water temp is 76 degree's and the Ph is 7.8, I have a well for water at my house that is run through a sediment filter before the water softner and a taste, odor, and color filter before it come's out of the tap. The water is very soft. I'm using a Marineland boi-wheel power filter. It's a penguin 150. I have yet to do any water changes yet, this is where I'm a little confused. Not sure how it will help with the cycling process. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

2. mosin360 Well Known Member Member

I assume you added Tetra Safe Start when you added your fish? If so, your not supposed to do any water changes until the cycle is complete which can take 7-10 days.

What test kit do you have or plan on getting?

3. freak78 Well Known Member Member

No I used something called Start Right, by Jungle. I have test strip's no kit. I took my sample to the pet store.

4. Meenu Fishlore VIP Member

lol... Mosin, I assumed the opposite, that TSS wasn;t used.

welcome to fishlore.

the cycling process is very hard on fish, because while the bacteria colony is building up, the fish are exposed to lethal levels of ammonia and nitrites. They can easily get ammonia poisoning, and if the cycling doesn't kill them, often they have shortened lives because of the damage to their organs.