10 Gallon Tank Hi! I’m new to fishkeeping

Neptunethebetta

Hi! I’m new to the forum as well as owning fish. Around four weeks ago, I got a 10 gallon tank for my birthday and started cycling it for around 2-3 weeks, before going back to my LFS and getting my first fish, Neptune, a red and light blue, small, veil tail betta. Previous to getting Neptune, I added my gravel substrate, bought 3 different types of live plants, a main wood piece, a rock (I forgot what it was called!) and my heater (the filter was already built in). I then got some antler floaters from someone who already owned a fish tank.

After a week of owning Neptune I got some shrimp and a golden mystery snail, as well as some subwassertang and java moss from an online shop, aus shrimp home. Unfortunately Neptune wanted a snack and ended up scaring the shrimp into hiding and killing the mystery snail. Ideally I would’ve wanted the tank to be a community tank, but after that I was a bit scared to put corydoras in, in case he attacked them.

It’s been great owning Neptune and I hope I can learn more about fish keeping on here! :))

Attachments

• FFBB61CC-2252-4A7A-A238-9D745DF2D79C.jpeg
    FFBB61CC-2252-4A7A-A238-9D745DF2D79C.jpeg
    139.5 KB · Views: 17

BradleyH2O

Howdy and welcome! That’s one fine looking betta.

BigManAquatics

Welco.e! Hipefully we can help guide you when you need!

StarGirl

Welcome to Fishlore! :)

HeavyHeart

Welcome!!
Best advice when it comes to vetta is to introduce you betta back to the aquarium after your shrimp and snail have been in there for a few weeks. Or until your shrimp start breeding. Bettas don't like when new things suddenly appear in their home. Add your corrys(they like soft and smooth substrate since corse substrate damages their under belly and fins) pigmy corrys are great fyi! And you can have more in a 10 gal!

FishDin

Welcome!

10 gal is too small for cories IMO unless you go with dwarfs or pygmies.

Neptunethebetta