Hi, I'm new to fishkeeping...

joeycasperanita

Reaction score
AND I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!!
Unfortunately, when I started I went to a store that didn't give me entirely correct information and said it was ok to use my two black mollies to cycle my tank (it had been running for a week but I since know the cycle wasn't nearly ready to be completed). Still, they thrived and I've learned a LOT from this site and love it. Some info: I have a 10 gallon heated freshwater with 2 black mollies named Nut and Bar(bigger) and a silver sailfin molly named Princess Plinko Poptart. When I first started I got the tank for my cats to watch (they love taking turns every now and then to watch and I actually think they're fond of them since they've never tried to open the lid which I taped down or bite or paw at them. They just sit there and watch).
Happily now my tank is well cycled, the fish are happy and I'm learning so much about how wonderful these fish are! I never thought they'd have so much personality! So much so that Princess Plinko Poptart nudges my finger if it's feeding time and I dip my finger into the water before I give them food! It's too cute (she can be a bit of a pig but my other fish seem to be getting their fair share so it's going well). Anyway, that's my 2 cents for now and it's great reading about all your tanks and information. I am considering upgrading to a beautiful 55 gallon in the next few months and (unfortunately) I've read about a lot of people saying mollies should be kept in a species only tank? Is that true? My LFS said they are community tank fish that like at least some other mollies to play with and should be fine with most other species! Anyway, I will check back for a response soon! I love this site
THanks everyone for making newbies like me feel so welcome!!! ;D

Gunnie

Well Known Member
Reaction score