Hi I'm Mac! Very New To Fishkeeping And Experiencing My First Power Outage With An Aquarium.

Mac88

Reaction score
I'm new to fishkeeping and currently experiencing my first power outage. I had a betta fish as a child in a bowl on the kitchen table but with a single mother of three as it's primary caretaker we were shortly going back to the store to see where she had taken our "sick" fish. My son just turned 6 and I decided to get him an aquarium. Doing little research at first but much more since I got him a 10 gallon aquarium and convinced him to stock it with guppies. We are currently experiencing a hurricane and our first power outage with an aquarium. Having the aquarium only set up for a week and a half I of course was not prepared with a battery operated air pump which I will be ordering very soon. I did put my fish in early and only lost one out of the six original guppies but being the only one dead the next morning I'm assuming he was already sick. I have since added 2 more guppies one to replace the lost one and one extra in case more were sick from the store and a glofish shark it is the glofish 10 gallon set up. I've done research and have also added live plants (one of which came with baby snails) from a neighbor's koi pond and a piece of buffer pad in my filter from his pond's filtration system hoping to speed up the nitrogen cycle since I only learned of this after getting the starting knowledge from little research and the local fish store employee. I moved the fish tank to the house I'd be staying at during the storm because we usually are the last to lose power and first to get it back. I did a 70-80% water change the night before last during the move, the fish staying in the tank because we were only going 15 minutes down the road. The fish seem fine and I already have 2 gallons of water to do a partial water change asap and the API freshwater test kit to check my ammonia levels and my house temperature is very close to their natural temperature