hi, im heather a newbie here

1. LadyBug82 Member Member

:;hi2 to everyone im heather and im new and i just got a 40g long fish tank for my daughter serenity that is 4yrs old. she wants the rocker princess theme tank. I'm from california in the central valley area.

2. Echostatic Well Known Member Member

Welcome to fishlore!

Do you have fish yet? It's best if you haven't, as you marked you don't understand the nitrogen cycle. Please, before you get any fish, read about the nitrogen cycle until you understand it inside and out. Failure to understand it has led to the deaths of countless fish.

I'd recommend posting a detailed list of equipment and livestock you want to get, experienced members here can look it over and point out any problems ahead of time, saving you money and headaches in the future :)

3. Echostatic Well Known Member Member

I see you already made a stocking thread, so never mind about that >.>

4. LadyBug82 Member Member

im planning on reading it, i have the tank the some decor and plants i got like 8 to 10lb bags of gravel for the tank useing black and got a bag of colorful gravel to mix with it, also got a heater and a filter for a 55 gallon tank and i got some tablets that u drop in to get the tank ready for fish, is there anything else i need?

5. Echostatic Well Known Member Member

What heater and filter did you get? Some will say they are rated for a certain size tank, but do not actually flow enough water.

You will want to rinse your gravel in warm water before adding it to the tank, to get any tiny debris out.

I'm not sure what the tablets you got are meant to do exactly, but you will need a water treatment chemical to neutralize chlorine or chloramine (depending on what they add to your water) and heavy metals. Any water that goes into the tank will need to be treated per directions on the bottle. People here like to use Seachem Prime or Amquel Plus, if you can find either of them.