Hi! I am a newbie. 10 Gallon Tank 

Cdbaby123

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I am new to the aquarium hobby. I have had a betta fish at work for years but now have a 10 gallon tank at home. I have learned that my work betta needs a tank upgrade which I am working on.
4 weeks ago I had no idea about cycling a tank and just went and bought a tank, filter a betta and some tetras..... well some how I have been able to keep them alive while the tank cycles.... so needless to say I am sure I will have tons of questions....

Attachments

Shika

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello and welcome! A lot of people here have done the same thing when it comes to not cycling (as well as keeping a betta in not-so-satisfactory living conditions), so don't worry! Most of us have been there and eventually learned enough to make the fish live better lives!

I'm just curious for my own sake: do you know what kind of tetras you got?

Edit: Also, what a cute and colorful tank! My only suggestion would be to make sure the plants aren't super rough; the ones at the bottom of the 'no fishing' sign and the rock in the front look a little hard for betta fins. If you find they're ripping the fins, I know they can pretty easily be yanked out without majorly destroying decorations (I did that with a rock in my tank!)

elisa001

Valued Member
Reaction score
Hi there! I did almost the same thing with a goldfish I got and placed him inside a very small tank with no knowledge other than having a filter. I now have a very large tank with multiple giant goldfish I have had for years, along with other kinds of fish tanks. The hobby defiantly grows on you.

Cdbaby123

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Shika said: