hi i am a newbie to keeping fish!! so if any one can help it would be great !

gennasis

Reaction score
hi i have had a fish tank for several months and i got it second had with fish and every thing so it is a mature tank!
i have for some reason been loosing my guppies i had about 20-30 to start off with and they have slowly died off!

i don't know why as my shrimp keep eating then so i never find their bodies! :'( ???

i have recently bought some new fish as my tank is getting a bit empty ( i only have 3 guppies and one baby guppy left...)
the fish i bought were 4 sword tails and 6 neons.... i lost one neon the first night i got them. But now one of my femail sword tails is dying...... she is either lying on the bottom of the tank or she is swimming vertically ......the other odd thing is that she seems to have White stuff foaming around her mouth. what should i do ?
if any one can help me it would be great thank you

Tumbleweed

Well Known Member
Reaction score
If you don't allready have one you need to get a water test kit. Not the test strip version, I recomed the Aquarium Pharmaceuticals master fresh water test kit, and test your water and let us know what your readings are. Alslo how often do you do water changes and how are you doing them?

Isabella

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Welcome to Fish Lore Gennasis

Tumbleweed is giving you some good advice. I'd also recommend for you to get a test kit, and if not a test kit, at least the tests for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and pH. If you already have these tests, what are your readings for ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate? How large is your tank? How often (and how large) do you perform water changes?

Richard

Well Known Member
Reaction score