Hi Guys!

Emil Jóhann

Reaction score
Hi my name is Emil Jóhann and I am new to the saltwater hobby. I have been in the freshwater world since i got my first aquarium ( Maybe 9 years old ) I would really like some good tips and to hear your experience in the hobby. My tank is only 2 weeks old. I was thinking about getting some corals in it or is it to soon for that? Sorry if my grammar is not good, English is not my native language

Last edited by a moderator:

Lorekeeper

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Hey Emil! Glad to hear you're starting a tank.

Do you know anything about the Nitrogen Cycle? Without a cycled tank, you can't keep anything.

How about lighting? Corals will need more than just the light your tank came with.

Can you also tell us your tank size, maybe what equipment you're using, and what you wanted to keep specifically?

Emil Jóhann

Reaction score
Hey Emil! Glad to hear you're starting a tank.

Do you know anything about the Nitrogen Cycle? Without a cycled tank, you can't keep anything.

How about lighting? Corals will need more than just the light your tank came with.

Can you also tell us your tank size, maybe what equipment you're using, and what you wanted to keep specifically?
My tank is 96 liters/25 gallons. Yes i know something about the cycle. But i know very little about lights, is there any you recommand? My canister filter is Fluval 106.

20180626_155635.jpg

Lorekeeper

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Do you have any test kits? Fish can survive a bit harsher conditions than corals, so any ammonia, nitrite, or high nitrate will kill corals pretty quickly.

Nice looking tank, btw. Are those some locally-caught fish?

If you're wanting to keep it on the cheap side, I've used this brand before:

You'd need quite a few of those for a 25 gallon. They screw into your basic E27 light socket. You could also go the ABI route, but that'd be a bit more expensive.