Hi everybody

jri4

Valued Member
Reaction score
I am just starting out as a real aquatic hobbyist as a senior in H.S. I researched info on getting a fish tank for a week, then asked my 10th grade biology teacher (and soccer coach) if I could have one of his tanks. I got a 10 gallon acrylic tank with a penguin 125 bio-wheel filter (already used, good for cycling) and a heater which is keeping the temp at 78 degrees. I have an air pump in a treasure chest, creating bubbles, and two fake plants, and a small rock tunnel for fish to hide in. All the mentioned stuff is relatively small, and I have lots of tank room. The tank has been set up for 4 days now, and I plan on getting my first cycling fish on Wednesday. My readings are all good. What should I get as a good fish to start with? I was thinking about either 5 cherry barbs or 5 zebra danios to help cycle the tank.

Here it what I want in the long run:

5 or 6 cherry barbs
1 or 2 Dwarf Gouramis
1 Cordoras Catfish

Does this sound okay. Do I need to get or do anything else?
Thanks, awesome site!!!

inuyasha_lover_21

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hi! welcome to fishlore.

Stradius011

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Welcome to Fishlore! Anyway, you need at least 3 corydoras... the more the merrier.....and I think 5-6 cherry barbs or zebra danios is a little too much.

arfon

Valued Member
Reaction score