Hi all /I have a fissue! 30 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'Welcome to FishLore' started by fivendime2, Mar 30, 2010.

1. fivendime2

fivendime2 New Member Member

Hi All,
    My name is Ginger I'm a newbie from N.Y. It's a great site you have here! Well, I seem to have a problem in my tank, it looks like fin rot. I brought home 3 new fish a month ago. The new fish (Tiger Barb) had fin rot and gave it to 3 other fish, a Ropefish (RIP), a Bala Shark, Clown Loach and starting to attack my Tinfoil Barb. I brought the Tiger Barb back to the store, and the employee promised that the fish was not sick, that my fish are being bullied.

Well, I didn't go with my intuition and waited a week to treat them while thinking they were getting, "Beat Up", and by week two my fish were worse the Tiger barb died and a couple days later my ropefish. I figured the Ropefish's pectorail fins were so short she hadn't have a chance for survival.

The illness started going away after about 7 days, So I did a water change and changed the carbon in my tank. Now, my Bala Shark and Clown Loach are showing signs of fin rot again, but I also see one of the new fish chasing the Bala Shark. I treated them in the past with Aquarium Salt and Mardel Maracyn-Oxy, which is a non antibiotic. I did research online and saw that fin/tailrot is a gram negative bacteria that should be treated with a antibiotic, but I wanted to try the least toxic possibility.
    If anyone cold give me any advice, would you be so kind?...thank you :)

2. b

bubblefish Valued Member Member

Maracyn 2 is quite effective for finrot.

3. OP
    OP
    fivendime2

Fin Rot esults, plus one more problem

I used the Maracyn 2 and did a 25% water change after the complete cycle. I was tols to use anti-bacterial food with the Maracyn 2, and did so.
    Now my Gurami hasn't eaten anything in 5 days :( His stomach is protruding so big, it looks like he will explode!