Hey everyone, its gloom!

gloomiath

Reaction score
Just wanted to drop by and say hi. I'm new to the aquarium scene but have learned alot by reading these forums and this site. Thanks to everyones contributions.

Me and my girlfriend just set up a 46 gallon bowfront tank in early July. We have 2 Bela Sharks, 2 Red Fin black sharks, 1 black fin shark, 6 tiger barbs, 1 black mollie, 3 rummy nose tetras (love the colors!), 5 neon tetras, and 2 corey cats. Maybe not the best mix of fish but they all get along pretty good. The tiger barbs were mean as **** when we only had 3, so we got 3 more (read that tip on this board) and they stay schooled now and are calm for the most part.

It's been a learnings process so far, and look forward to years of enjoyment.

Our deceased list is:
2 black mollies (both ended up pregnant from the store and the tiger barbs got them while they were weak, the first week we got them)

and we just got over an ich infestation which we think was brought into the tank from a fish from the store, that claimed the life of 1 spotted catfish (we think this was the cause), 1 neon tetra, 1 rummy nose, and 1 clown pleco. RIP my friends. But the ich has disapeared from the fish and should be completely gone from the tank in a few more days.

Glad to be here and i appreciate the future help!

hopesmom

Valued Member
Reaction score
hi there! glad to meet ya! I was wondering about your mix of fish...I think neon tetras are so pretty, and my little girl always wants me to get them and I tell her no (our 20g is overstocked, and our 90g isn't set up still)...I thought neons were too little and shy to go with hardly any other fish at all..but you have them with quite an assortment...are they ok? not harrassed? thanks, gloom!
Denise

gloomiath

Reaction score
hey hopesmom! Thanks for the welcome.