Hey, All You Sand Lovers Out There

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Thunder_o_b, Apr 8, 2017.

1. Thunder_o_b

Thunder_o_bFishlore VIPMember

As most people here know I am not a lover of sand....Partly because I have always used UG filters...Well, till about a year ago when I started a long term test and have two tanks without them.

Anyway, we have a 150 gallon tall that was going to be a salt reef. But after three years and a rather high amount of medical bills I do not have the money for the lights and other gear. So I am planning to do a FW with it. I am going to go sand. Now, I was wondering if I could get some input on this. I am thinking about going black. The cost of high quality bagged sand for a 150 planted tank is a bit high. I have no experience with blasting sand but have heard that some have issues with it having sharp edges. I plan to have a large school of corys.

So, what do you sanders think?

2. Zahc

ZahcWell Known MemberMember

I have, and love, play sand. Its super fine, which has alot of benefits, especially with Corydoras. I had Panda's and Bolivian Rams recently, and watching them sift sand through their gills all day is beautiful in my opinion. Even my plecos burrow into it because its so soft/fine. Pool filter sand was to large and white for my liking, whereas with plays sand i'ts very natural looking (practically river sand imo). Its also ridiculously cheap. The only cons are that you need to wash it EXTREMELY well, and you always have to turn off filters and powerheads if your interrupting the substrate.

I've never used BDBS but I think if you get a small grain size it is definitely Corydoras safe. I'll let others that have had experience with it chime in on that though. Just though i'd throw in my experience.

3. APierce

APierceWell Known MemberMember