Hex Tank Setup Help

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Matt N., Jun 13, 2018.

1. M

Matt N. New Member Member

I just recently was given a 40 gallon Hex tank. I am very new to the aquarium game and am looking for some guidance. My first question is what type of filter to purchase. The dimensions of the tank are 22x24x25. It came with an under gravel filter plate and two tubes, however no pump or anything. My second question is how many fish and what kind of fish would be ideal to keep in the tank to ensure healthy, happy lives for them as well as a community aquarium feel. My third question is what type of substrate to use, sand or gravel? And finally my fourth question is what type of heater to get to keep the fish happy. Thank you very much in advance for your help!!

2. kayla.s

kayla.s Well Known Member Member

Some of your questions answers depend on what you decide to stock the tank with, like the numbers of fish and best substrate option. Are there any fish that you are interested in keeping? The forum can help figure out the best numbers from there. Also your substrate choice will depend on if you have any bottom dwellers, like corys :)

3. DylanM

DylanM Well Known Member Member