Hesitant newbie hoping to get some advice here!

Azkhar

Hello! Lurked around and finally made an account so I can ask questions directly. I'm still in the research phase trying to make a list of links to amazon products I need lol. Having major conflicts between seeing bad reviews on some brands but also too expensive for some sites fish youtubers suggest,, as a college student I unfortunately cannot afford expensive tree branch even if they're pretty- So I really need to budget products below $30 each or my parents will question my sanity; This much money into fish? Blasphemous.

Only thing purchased is a 5.5 gallon tank. I want to do a planted tank with a betta and a couple of shrimp if that's ok. I live on the west coast of US.

Things I've noted down so far are "AquaClear Hagen Power Filter" for 20 gallon tanks, API tap water conditioner, and a clip-on LED lamp. Water conditioner there are so many types I don't know if there's a specific one I need or are they all okay? Reviews for plants I find are all iffy, is there a good site for plants? (Youtuber I found suggested buceplants) There's a small local aquatic pet store here that has some plants I think. It's getting colder around here (6C outside) and I'm worried if I order, the plants will freeze to death on the way here.
I'm not sure if I'm putting way too much thought into which product to buy or if this is normal to think so much ahaha.

But anyways yes hello! Hi! I am very new! xD

RogueFebreze