Help with sponge filter!

FishPatrol

I am pretty new to sponge filters, but bought one early in July to use in my new quarantine tank. Being that it was just for the 10 gallon quarantine tank, I got the Aquaneat 10 gallon sponge filter and it’s powered using my Whisper 60 that is shared between the quarantine tank and my 40 gallon breeder (just as a bubbler there - I also have an Emperor 400 HOB for that tank). The sponge IS seeded as I kept it in my big established tank for a few weeks and the water in the 10 gallon is testing ok (and has a healthy amount of nitrates present), BUT to get to my long winded question, is this size sponge too small??? I bought 5 black skirt tetras yesterday to quarantine, and started to worry afterwards whether or not that size sponge is adequate to support them. Should I buy one that’s rated for 20,30,40, etc gallons or is the 10 gallon one adequate as long as it’s just short term and I don’t have any more fish than this in it (with frequent water changes)? It’s also bare bottomed. If I were to start over I’d probably start with a bigger one but now with this one seeded, I’m not sure if I should switch things up mid quarantine or if that’s necessary (if these fish will be ok). Please help! I’m overly paranoid about my fish dying and I need a little reassurance or redirection.

FishPatrol

Note: All the fish currently look very healthy, I just don’t want that to change, and so I wanted to get opinions.

Upvote 0

FinalFins

Don't pay attention to "rated for x gallons". That is just indicating the size of the filter itself.

The amount of flow the air has really determines the efficiency of the filter.

Upvote 0

FishPatrol

Don't pay attention to "rated for x gallons". That is just indicating the size of the filter itself.

The amount of flow the air has really determines the efficiency of the filter.