Help with new ghost shrimp

CoronaExtra

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello I recently got around 13 ghost shrimp from the pet store I work at. I'm new to fish keeping and one of my shrimps turned white and died. I researched a little and lots of sources say bad things about coper sulfate which is in the algae wafers and fish food I feed them. That along with the tank maybe not being cycled killed the one. What is the ideal temp the tank should be at for the ghost shrimp? It's at around 72 degrees right now and also I want reccomendations for copper free shrimp food that I can easily get from pet smart or petco/petland. I'm going to order snowflake shrimp food but want other info. Thanks

Attachments

Sunflower

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Hi! First and foremost, do you know about the nitrogen cycle? I see you said you’re new to fish keeping and the cycle is the key to keeping your fish healthy.

Also, they’re ghost shrimp. They’re bred to be feeders and die easily. Most even come with horsehair worms. I wouldn’t worry too much about the one that died. I also don’t think there would be enough copper sulfate in the food to do much damage to the shrimp but let’s wait and see what everyone else says :)

CoronaExtra

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Yes I have a 20 gallon long tank with a lot of tropical community fish and the aquarium has gone through the nitrogen cycle. This new one has some of tetra safestart beneficial bacteria and lots of plants and the carbon pillow from my cycled tank in it

Sunflower said:
Hi! First and foremost, do you know about the nitrogen cycle? I see you said you’re new to fish keeping and the cycle is the key to keeping your fish healthy.