Help With Cycling New Tank - Just Killed Goldie :(

Discussion in 'Welcome to FishLore' started by Maryanne007, Jul 9, 2019.

1. Maryanne007

Maryanne007New MemberMember

Hello, newbie here! I just bought a fluval flex 9 gallon to save a goldfish my daughter won at a carnival. The pet store gave me a used filter from a cycled tank they had and two large bags of cycled water which I then added dechlorinated water to. I let it sit in the new tank with the filter on for about 8 hours (at the store's suggestion) and then put goldie in since he was otherwise in a tupperware with decholorinated water. Well, he died this morning.

So, I'd like to actually do it right and get the tank cycled and get fish that will actually fit into this smaller tank.. so my question is, what do I do now? I took the dead fish out this morning... I just got more supplies, master testing kits, ammonia, gravel, plants, etc. They won't come until tomorrow.

Should I dump out the old water (its kinda yellowish, and I thought the water didn't really contain helpful bacteria anyway) and refill with clean dechlorinated water?

Anything else I need to consider? How long will it likely take to cycle? Thanks so much in advance...!

2. Kiks

KiksWell Known MemberMember

The beneficial bacteria doesn't live in the water column but the filter media.
    I would never get any cycled filter media from my LFS or add any of their water to my own tanks for that matter. If I were you I'd dump the used filter media, empty out the water and add new clean water and cycle the tank with pure ammonia. That way you know that there is nothing nasty in there and you know it's cycled properly.