help with coralline algae.....

finnbanks7

Didn't know where to post this question so I am a beginner per say. so i've had my tank for 7 1/2 to 8 months. I had coralline algae and it would go away. over and over. I have got some now and was using my blue actinic lights for 8 hours a day and the coralline was growing. But recently got some corals and started my flourecents and actinic again and the coralline is starting to turn white what little coralline I have. so if anyone can help that would be great. ive got 2 clowns, a black clown goby, a cleaner shrimp, peppermint shrimp, margarita snails, and some hermits. gsp, green clove polyps, 4 zoanthids. water perams good, 96 watts of light, moon lights. skimmer and 2 poerheads

Reefing Madness

Your water parameters are the key here.
Magnesium should be between 1200-1400
ALK should be between 8-12,
Calcium should be between 420-460
Keeping those numbers will grow and sustain Coralline

finnbanks7

Reefing Madness

No Magnesium? Everything else looks great, cept Phosphates, that's up there a bit. Try Chemipure Elite or GFO perhaps.

finnbanks7

no mag test yet. I actually have chemphos in my hob filter did a water change last wednesday. I usually do water changes on that day somtimes during the weekend.

Reefing Madness

Other than the Phosphates I don't see why your not seeing a load of Coralline growing.

ryanr

It is normal for coraline to come and go in the first 12 months. I am seeing some of it myself, and all my research says "be patient, it'll come back"

It's possible that low magnesium may be part of the cause - what salt mix/salt water are you using?

Additionally, if any of your rock work has moved, or been exposed to air, that can cause coraline to go white.

Personally, whilst I agree PO4 is a bit high, I don't think it's the cause. I have good coraline growth at 1.5ppm PO4 (Hanna Checker) [Yes, I'm trying to bring down]

The only other thing I can think of would be sea urchins having a feast.