Help With A Quiet Filter

wrs2

Well Known
The filter on my 5.5 Betta tank is vibrating and SO LOUD that it is driving me INSANE! I am super sensitive to noises, and I fear if I have to deal with it all the time it's going to give me a migraine! It's a this filter:

Tetra Whisper Power Filter, 5 - 10 gal

If I put the top on it it's even louder! I can't sleep at night without air plugs because the noise is so bad!

Can anyone recommend a filter that will be QUIET? But please keep in mind that I am a teacher with student loans which equals not a lot of funds haha!

I was thinking of making my own filter like from Life with Pets on YouTube, but I think an air-pump thing would be just as annoying with it's vibration!
Same with a sponge filter right? and I tried an internal filter but it was too big and just as noisy!

Thank you!

AquaticJ

Fishlore VIP
Try a Aquaclear 20. You can turn the flow down and mine are very quiet. I know what you mean, I can't have have any noise from filters when I'm trying to sleep.

wrs2

Well Known
It’s the 2nd one that I’ve gotten that buzzed and vibrates and is SO loud! I will look into the aqua clear!

AquaticJ

Fishlore VIP
Not only is the Aquaclear more quiet, it's a much better filter.

wrs2

Well Known
So I got this filter... and I still have that awful vibration noise!

AquaticJ

Fishlore VIP
How close it this to your bed?

wrs2

Well Known
It’s across the room but I can still hear it as it’s so noisy.

AquaticJ

Fishlore VIP
You must be having really bad luck! I’ve never had one make a vibrating sound. Maybe you could swap it out for another one?

wrs2

Well Known
Yours makes zero noise? This is literally the 3rd filter that I got that makes vibrating noises! I can’t deal with the noise so I end up putting in ear plugs! I am at the point where I just want to make my own filter. I saw a YouTube video how to do it and one on how to silence an air pump.

AquaticJ

Fishlore VIP