Help With A Quiet Filter

wrs2

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
The filter on my 5.5 Betta tank is vibrating and SO LOUD that it is driving me INSANE! I am super sensitive to noises, and I fear if I have to deal with it all the time it's going to give me a migraine! It's a this filter:

Tetra Whisper Power Filter, 5 - 10 gal

If I put the top on it it's even louder! I can't sleep at night without air plugs because the noise is so bad!

Can anyone recommend a filter that will be QUIET? But please keep in mind that i am a teacher with student loans which equals not a lot of funds haha!

I was thinking of making my own filter like from Life with Pets on YouTube, but I think an air-pump thing would be just as annoying with it's vibration!
Same with a sponge filter right? and I tried an internal filter but it was too big and just as noisy!

Thank you!

AquaticJ

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Try a Aquaclear 20. You can turn the flow down and mine are very quiet. I know what you mean, I can't have have any noise from filters when I'm trying to sleep.

wrs2

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
It’s the 2nd one that I’ve gotten that buzzed and vibrates and is SO loud! I will look into the aqua clear!

wrs2

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
So I got this filter... and I still have that awful vibration noise!

wrs2

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
It’s across the room but I can still hear it as it’s so noisy.

AquaticJ

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
You must be having really bad luck! I’ve never had one make a vibrating sound. Maybe you could swap it out for another one?

wrs2

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years