Help With 20 Gallon Setup

2006fuzz

So I've decided to venture onto the dark side, lol. I'm looking to set up a small, nano almost?, saltwater tank. I'm only looking to house a pair of occilarus clownfish, hopefully an anemone, and some sort of clearers (thinking only snails or crabs). Ideally it's going to be a 20 gallon, which brings me t my first question;

1. Is there anything wrong with buying a non cube tank? I see biocubes and nano cube tanks amrketed for saltwater, but is there anything wrong with using something like a 20 gallon hex from Aqueon?

They seem like a decent size and an interesting shape for clownfish. I'm a student, so cost is also an issue so I intend to slowly build this up. The stand will be homemade. The 20 gallon hex is a kit, which comes with a power filter and a hood with LED lights.

2. Will the stock hood + lights be suitable(even for short term)? And with the filter, is there any point in running it? And/or should I get a power head? What's the optimal GPH turnover I should aI'm for?

3. ATO and protein skimmer. So for a 20 gallon, as long as I'm around i'veread that both of these I could go without. But for let's say a 2 week stretch, I'd need atleast an ATO right? If I used a power filter would that help at all with the lack of protein skimmer? And for ATO, is there a cheap DIY setup, like a 5 gallon pail with an airhose on a drip, like when acclimating fish, running into the tank?

In the long run, an ATO(if the DIY doesn't work out) and a protein skimmer is on the list, but funding is going to be tight initially once the live rock and the tank itself is purchased.

Coradee

Giving this a bump up for you

aaron0g

Sorry for the delayed response, tank shape is preference more than anything but I wouldn't go taller than wide as just like fresh water oxygen exchange is related to surface area.