Help! White web-like stuff in my fish tank

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by New fish lover, Mar 19, 2010.

1. New fish loverNew MemberMember

Hello,

I am new here. I bought a used 29 gal fish tank. Set-up and put some dechlorinator and some bacteria supplement. No fish yet. It gets cloudy after 2 days. Yesterday, the water gets clearer but there are some white web-like thingy floating. I am not sure what it is. Tips/advice are welcome. Thanks in advance.

I have attached a picture.

Attached Files:

2. gef21

gef21Valued MemberMember

3. OP
    OP
    N

New fish loverNew MemberMember

I cleaned it with tap water. However, I also put the old decoration (Roman) and new ones.

4. gef21

gef21Valued MemberMember

did you clean the decorations? I am just trying to fact find here. Probably need some more knowledgeable members to chime in on this.

5. OP
    OP
    N

I think I just put the decorations in without washing them very well :( Sorry I'm kinda new with this hobby and just starting to get more information. Should I take the decorations out and start all over again? Also, I haven't test the water yet. I just set it up last Monday. Thanks.

6. xxSTEPHENSxxValued MemberMember

I would rewash everything just to make sure. So starting over is what I would do.

7. OP
    OP
    N

Ok, I will start all over again. Thanks.
    BTW. Do you know what is that thing called?

8. xxSTEPHENSxxValued MemberMember

I kind of looks like bacteria.

I am cycling one of my tanks now and I have a small chunk of shrimp in it and it has this big white/clear stuff hanging from it. Looks similar to that.

9. OP
    OP
    N

Should I still start all over again or that is part of the cycling process? It started the day after I added the bacteria supplement.

10. gef21

gef21Valued MemberMember

It is def not part of the cycling process.

11. xxSTEPHENSxxValued MemberMember