Help!! what is wrong with my goldfish??

1. m

m3thoodman New Member Member

i recently bought 4 goldfish and one of them has some kind of injury on the right left side and after 3 days white cotton like stuff is building up in it.. and same thing is happening to its mouth as well.

Here are some pics:
    IMG_0295.jpg IMG_0296.jpg IMG_0297.jpg

2. crawfishcrazy27

crawfishcrazy27 Well Known Member Member

It may have an infection on a cut, but I am not an expert on fish disease.

Good luck to ya and your fish!

CrawfishCrazy27✌️

3. jdhef

jdhef Moderator Moderator Member

Welcome to FishLore!

I'm sorry to see your fish is having problems. The fast, easy answer is to tell you that it seems to me that he has a fungus.

The long answer is why he has a fungus. You say in your Aquarium Info that you are not aware of the nitrogen cycle (words will be link to article). Please take the time to read up on it, since it is the most important thing to understand when keeping fish.

My guess is that the fish has a fungus due to elevated ammonia and/or nitrite levels. (You'll understand what that is all about when your read up on the nitrogen cycle). So you really need to start doing some partial water changes to get the ammonia/nitrite levels down. If you could use a water conditioner made by SeaChem called Prime, that would help alot since Prime will detox lowish levels of ammonia/nitrite.

Also, I do not know what size tank you have, but the photo looks like you have a common goldifshas opposed to a fancy goldfish (i.e. fantail). Common goldfish really need to be in a pond due to the fact that they can get well over one foot long and are huge waste producers. (Waste production will make more sense once you read up on the nitrogen cycle.)

but if I'm mistaken and you do have a fany goldfish, it would require t least 20 gallons for the first and 10 gallons for each additional. fancy goldfish.