Help! Very New. 20 Gallon Tank With Clown Pleco.

litttlecreature
HI guys!

I am really new to this. I mean, I had fish as a kid, but never a developed aquarium.

I am getting my boyfriend a 20 gallon tank with accessories for his birthday. I've been researching a lot, but there is so much information out there that it's a but overwhelming.

I have decorations with places to hide, driftwood, food for different fish, the works.

The one fish I want to get is a clown pleco, because he loves them. I know that 20 gallons is the minimum for them, so I want to know if/how many/what types of fish I might be able to get with the pleco. I was thinking some mollies, definitely some snails, and maybe some very tiny schooling fish. I'm looking for fish that'll do a good job with tank cleanup, and fish that would be happy in the environment I have.

I know I'm ignorant about all of this - I am trying to learn as much as possible before his birthday (7/15). ANY tips or suggestions would be so, so helpful.

Thank you!!

DylanM
Was about to write a heated post thinking you said clown loach, but then I realized you wrote clown pleco XD

litttlecreature
Haha, nope! So you think a clown pleco is ok in a tank that size? I don't want to do something wrong! I'm nervous.

DylanM
Haha, nope! So you think a clown pleco is ok in a tank that size? I don't want to do something wrong! I'm nervous.
I think as long as you provide him with plenty of driftwood and you get a 20 gallon long you could definitely keep one in a 20 gallon. After all their max size is about an inch shorter than a bristlenose's max size.

litttlecreature
I have quite a lot of driftwood - thank you! Yeah, I'm choosing a clown because their size is so small. Let me know if you have an idea on tankmates!

wodesorel