Help This Fish Has A Giant Ulcer

1. Jin_Yu Initiate Member

Hi all! I'm new here. I am taking care of a friend's 2 iridescent sharks and the 16" albino shark developed a big ulcer on its side over the course of the last 2 days. The owner is out of town, I sent him pictures but he has no idea what it could be. I haven't been able to find any pictures online to help identify what this is.

At the beginning it looked like a bump of air under the skin like goldfish get when their bladder is acting up. This morning though, an open sore opened up and it leaking white grains of sand or flesh into the tank (but they float). The fish is large..like 16" long and it shares this massive tank with another black iridescent shark. As you can see, I'm not an expert here but freaking out at the thought of a giant dead fish or that whatever is wrong with this fish will also infect the other fish.

Here's some links:
    Iridescent sharks ulcer
    Iridescent sharks in their tank

Update: Progressed Ulcer (day 3)

Any help would be appreciated..

2. 2211Nighthawk Well Known Member Member

Heh sorry to disappoint you but that is a *really* small tank for fish that big. Those guys should be in a tank 20' long at least (if not a heck of a lot more)

BUT aside from that. My first though was parasites. Have you seen any worms or something like that on/in the wound?

3. Jin_Yu Initiate Member

Hi Nighthawk, thank you so much for your reply. I haven't seen any visible parasites, but it does make sense in terms of the buildup and eruption of that sore. The other idea I had was some kind of bacterial infection. Any thoughts on treatment?

Based on what I've read here and in other forums it looks like quarantining each fish, fixing water, adding some kind of medication. Any recommendations for that process? Not sure what to do about the giant gaping hole in the side of opal the fish.