HELP: Sudden death of corydoras

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by Ayrigosa, Aug 9, 2015.

1. Ayrigosa

AyrigosaValued MemberMember

In the past 4 days I've had two corydoras die.

They're in a 10G

The temperature hasn't changed drastically and the water is fine.

I have a Molly who won't stop wiggling, I think she may be attacking the smaller fish as my tetras have torn fins.

No evidence of this on my BN pleco, but she hides 99% of the time.

--

Is there any illness that wouldn't show other than maybe being a little skinny? They're being fed plenty (algae wafers etc.)

Also I've had them for 4 months and nothing new has been added to the tank since their arrival, yet they both died this week.

Help?

We have one corydora left and I don't want her to die too. :(

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

2. TikiBird

TikiBirdWell Known MemberMember

Hi Ayrigosa! I'm not an expert, but I do think cories need a partly meaty diet, since they're omnivorous. Do you feed sinking catfish pellets as well as the algae wafers?

3. OP
    OP
    Ayrigosa

They get tropical flakes and cichlid pellets right now. But my pleco tries to eat everything I put on the tank bottom.

They lived for 5 months like this, so I don't think it was a food issue.

4. Dom90

Dom90Fishlore VIPMember

10G is way too small for the fish you have, and they have high bioloads, the mollies and the BN pleco. What are your water parameters? Do you have a test kit to check?

5. OP
    OP
    Ayrigosa

.... Molly. ONE.
    It's not bloody overstocked.

6 fish is not overstocked when only one is large.

The only fish over an inch is my pleco and the water is fine.

6. Dom90

Dom90Fishlore VIPMember

It's not about the size of the fish but also the bioload that you have to take into consideration. None of the fish you have would work in a 10g.

7. Bijou88

Bijou88Well Known MemberMember