Help Setting Up Tank, Just Killed Goldie :(

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Maryanne007, Jul 9, 2019.

1. Maryanne007

Maryanne007New MemberMember

Hello, newbie here! I just bought a fluval flex 9 gallon to save a goldfish my daughter won at a carnival. The pet store gave me a used filter from a cycled tank they had and two large bags of cycled water which I then added dechlorinated water to. I let it sit in the new tank with the filter on for about 8 hours (at the store's suggestion) and then put goldie in since he was otherwise in a tupperware with decholorinated water. Well, he died this morning.

So, I'd like to actually do it right and get the tank cycled and get fish that will actually fit into this smaller tank.. so my question is, what do I do now? I took the dead fish out this morning... I just got more supplies, master testing kits, ammonia, gravel, plants, etc. They won't come until tomorrow.

Should I dump out the old water (its kinda yellowish, and I thought the water didn't really contain helpful bacteria anyway) and refill with clean dechlorinated water?

Anything else I need to consider? How long will it likely take to cycle? Thanks so much in advance...!

2. NC122606

NC122606Well Known MemberMember

Did you acclimate it correctly? I would replace the old water and just put yours in so there is not a big change every time you do a water change. Keep the filter media and stuff so it is an almost instant cycle, also please consider getting a bigger tank (if) you do get another goldfish maybe like 20 gallons. Good Luck!!!

3. Guppygirl88

Guppygirl88Valued MemberMember

awww sorry your first fish experience was so so terrible but welcome! In the very beginning of this section Freshwater beginners