Help! Rocks and fish fins are turning reddish brown..

violynn

Reaction score
???  Hi!  I am relatively new to tropical fish.  In the past few months I have averted a few disasters by reading message boards like this; however I'm really stumped this time.  I have 2 tanks, a 5-gallon and 10-gallon.  The 5-gallon is not having any problems as far as I can tell, and it has 4 female Dalmatian mollies in it (one fully grown and 3 babies that are about 5 months old).  My 10-gallon tank has 5 male baby mollies (about 5 months old), one guppy, and one Cory cat.  The pH, ammonia, nitrate, and nitrite levels of both tanks are the same (pH=7.0, ammonia=0ppm, nitrate=10ppm, nitrite=0ppm).  I started adding some aquarium salt to the water about a month and a half ago because the adult Mollie (the mother of the babies) kept getting sick with Dropsy.  I read that for mollies a little bit of aquarium salt would relieve some of the stress.  Since she got better and I gave away 7 of my babies the tanks have seemed to do fine (there were 15 babies so my tanks were a little over loaded for a month or so, but I did every other day water changes and I was able to keep the nitrate, nitrite, and ammonia under control). 

About 2 weeks ago I broke the heater in the 10-gallon tank, so the water has been a little colder than normal but the fish seem fine.  I was in the process of completely cleaning out the 10-gallon tank when I broke it because the rocks were really dirty from when I had all those baby fish in there.  Before I realized it was broken I had placed it back into the tank.