150 Gallon Tank Help please, need to figure out what to get rid of and what to add

e_watson09

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Well I have offically been basically thrown a 150 gallon marine tank from my mother who decided she wants a tank but doesn't want to take care of it. So, I've already decided we're getting rid of some of the fish so I can get some other types that are nicer and just more fun to look at. I do work at a pet store so I can pretty much get any fish I want for a really good price but honestly I am a big noob at saltwater fish.

Here's what I have in the tank currently....
-Trigger: he's navy blue I forget exact type (Selling to LFS tues or weds)
-Lunar Wrasse (could be a different kind I'm not positive he looks similar to this one)
-Spotted grouper (once again a guess, he's black with small white poka dots)
-yellow tang
-hippo tang
-Yellow eye tang
-sailfin tang
-two regular clowns I forget what they're called but they're a breeding pair
-domino damsel
-Zebra damsel
-Big eye squirrel fish

I think that's it fish wise I may have another damsel in there I forget. I refuse to get rid of any of the tangs and my mom would probably kill me if I did so they're staying but everything else is okay to get rid of if I want. Eventually I want a coral tank so everything needs to be reef safe which I know right now it's not.

Inverts I currently have and I don't plan to get rid of these but I think I'm going to add some more after I get rid of the trigger are....
-1 huge hermit crab
-atleast one small hermit crab (I only found one while cleaning)
-1 clam (he's the only one left from the 5 my mom bought that my trigger has been feasting on)
-1 enenemy (spelled that way wrong )

Basically the only thing I can think of that I really want is a starfish but I don't know of any that are reef safe. So suggestions on that would be nice. Then some ideas as to what I should do fish wise.

Aquarist

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score