HELP PLEASE!!! my betta fish has a weird red spot on it's back

likemyfish

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Ok so today my betta fish (Gamma) was getting his water changed when I noticed a peculiar difference on his back. Upon further inspection I noticed that there was a big red spot on his back that looked like a wound and some of his scales around the bump looked upturned a little. This explained his weird behaviour of lying on the bottom of the tank (gave me quit a few scares) and only moving when it's feeding time. me and my mom noticed this so I created a account on this website for help. I would upload pics of the poor little guy but I don't know how to.

Now, (don't hate me for this) but I'm a newbie to the fish world so I don't have these fancy heaters or stress relief serum etc. so I don't know what to do! please if someone could help (also might be useful for someone to teach me how to post pictures)

Junne

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Welcome to FL!!!

A few things, do you have any décor in your tank that your Betta might have hurt himself on? How about anything plastic such as plants, etc?

Is the red spot just red? Does it have any white cottony or white strands from it?

What temperature is your tank at? Bettas are warm water fish and needs a heater to be around 78-82 degrees. This will greatly help in the livelihood of your betta.

Is your tank filtered?

I didn't notice any of this in your profile ( can you update it please? )

Is this a bowl or what size is your tank?

likemyfish

Reaction score
Experience
Just started