Help. Odd Coloring On Betta's Head

sierrah766

Valued Member
Reaction score
I just posted about how I just got this fish but the colouring on the top of his head is a bit odd, idk if it’s just his colour or something to be concerned about. I’m not very experienced please help. I literally just got this fish this morning and he’s a a qt tank.
IMG_1657.jpg
IMG_1656.jpg

sierrah766

Valued Member
Reaction score
Gypsy13 said:
Hey. Let me ask for eyes. @FishLoverEmma0 can you look at this baby for me?
Thank you! I’m worried it might be velvet but I really don’t know the signs. It also doesn’t look gold or reflective but I’m so worried.

FishLoverEmma0

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
sierrah766 said:
Thank you! I’m worried it might be velvet but I really don’t know the signs. It also doesn’t look gold or reflective but I’m so worried.
I have had this on one of my female bettas, a slight pinkish color on the top of the head. Are there any other fish in the tank?

FishLoverEmma0

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
FishLoverEmma0 said:
I have had this on one of my female bettas, a slight pinkish color on the top of the head. Are there any other fish in the tank?
Oh I just noticed that its a quarantine tank. To me it looks like it could be part of the fish's coloring, since it seems to be a koi? So it could have been under stress at the store. I wouldn't be to worried unless the flashlight test comes back positive. Is the betta eating?

sierrah766

Valued Member
Reaction score
FishLoverEmma0 said:
Oh I just noticed that its a quarantine tank. To me it looks like it could be part of the fish's coloring, since it seems to be a koi? So it could have been under stress at the store. I wouldn't be to worried unless the flashlight test comes back positive. Is the betta eating?
He seems a bit stressed but he did have a couple blood worms yesterday. He is koi I think, just white and blue over his body.

sierrah766

Valued Member