Help! Newbie here

renzsalazar

I am on my Week 2 of Fish In Cycle (Betta Fish) 5gal cube tank. My tank is on a full diatom bloom right now and there are signs of green algae forming on the side of the tank. I would like to ask where am I on my Fish In Cycle right now? My API Test Results are the following:

pH: 8.0
Ammonia: 0 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrate: between 0 ppm to 5 ppm??? (Pls. See attached picture)

I also added IAL to lower the pH of my tank after a 25% water change yesterday. I am also using API Quickstart after water change and SeaChem Stability everyday. TIA! Hoping to fully cycle my tank in the near future.

20210926_114350.jpgHere is the picture of my 5 gal cube tank. The green algae is starting to form on the side of the tank. My lighting is 8 to 10 hrs everyday.

Attachments

• 20210926_111854.jpg
    20210926_111854.jpg
    112.2 KB · Views: 8

Tigerburp

I am on my Week 2 of Fish In Cycle (Betta Fish) 5gal cube tank. My tank is on a full diatom bloom right now and there are signs of green algae forming on the side of the tank. I would like to ask where am I on my Fish In Cycle right now? My API Test Results are the following:

pH: 8.0
Ammonia: 0 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrate: between 0 ppm to 5 ppm??? (Pls. See attached picture)
Your ph is a little high but other then that well done

renzsalazar

Your ph is a little high but other then that well done
Thanks! Can i add more IAL? I don't like to add pH buffer it might affect my on going cycle.

Flyfisha

Hi renzsalazar welcome to fishlore.

It would have been nicer to see the results of a test before any water change? However as it’s just week two it’s far far to early to expect any kind of bacteria to have established in the tank unless you added a dirty filter or other media from an established tank?

Have you tested your tap water? For nitrates etc?
Don’t worry about the PH in an uncycled tank.
Continue water changes every 48 hours.