Help! Newbie here. Recently deceased Red Oscar/ Pleco. Sick?

danasart

Reaction score
Hi. I am hoping that someone can help me. I recently had an Red Oscar die. :-[ It was pale and hung at the top of the tank. Looked like it was gasping. Would not eat. Now my Pleco. has has a spot by the base of his Dorsal Fin that it bright pink and slowly getting larger. Next to that he now has 2 scale patches that are whitish looking. Seems to be eating fine.. Have noticed that when he defecates, it is in a long string that seems to take awhile for him to lose. I have another Oscar and looks like he is getting a light spot on the edge of one of his gills. He has a voracious appetite and swims very energetically most of the time. Is there anyone that I can send Photos to that can help me determine if my Pleco is sick or just minorly injured? I am very very worried! Thanks in advance!

0morrokh

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
What is the size of the tank? What are the ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate readings? What and how many fish are in there?

Without a bit more info it is hard to say what is wrong.

danasart

Reaction score
Hi- Thanks for your reply.   I do not know what the chemical readings on the water are.  Three weeks ago I completly emptied the tank, scrubbed all the sides down, threw out all the plastic plants and replaced with live ones.  Replaced with treated water, so water should be fine.  Also replaced filter system with a new one rated for 35 gallons. The tank is 25 gallons and currently has one 9" Pleco. and one 41/2" Red Tiger Oscar.  I have had this tank for almost 3 years and never had a problem- has been extremely healthy.  The problem began when I bought the Oscars from Petco.  I thank you in advance for any further assistance that you can give to me-  Dana

i

i

dazzler

Valued Member
Reaction score