Help Newbie 10 gallon stocking!

1. amanda2000 Initiate Member

Hello, I have recently purchased a 10-gallon tank and was hoping to get some help and ideas for stocking fish! Now I know 10 gallons is not a lot to work with however it is all I could afford and is all I have room for at the moment. I would love to have several freshwater small fish in this tank and colorful as well. I was hoping to stock the tank with a few ornaments and gravel. If yall could give me some stocking options that would be wonderful and I also would like an algae eater. I really want some colorful fish for this tank. I do not plan on upgrading to a bigger tank so if you could provide fish that do not grow largely that would help immensely. Thank you so much! I would like to purchase this tank if it is helpful. "MARINELAND® 10 Gallon BioWheel LED Aquarium Kit." Please remember I am a beginner!

2. Aquarium Newb Member Member

I would go with some ember tetras and some shrimp. There isnt an algae eater that would fit in a 10 gallon to my knowledge other than a shrimp/snail. Personally I would go with red cherry shrimp, expensive but they look great. Ghost shrimp are cheap but you can get whisker shrimp mixed up in them and whisker shrimp kill fish. There is a list someone made with all kinds of fish for a 10 gallon, ill see if I can find the link for you.

3. Aquarium Newb Member Member

4. codyrex97 Well Known Member Member

You could do a Betta with inverts tank. Snails and shrimp with a betta as the only fish.

Or you could do guppies, tetra, rasbora, platies.

There was a list of suggestions for stocking a 10 gallon but I lost it, maybe somebody else has the link.

EDIT: Nevermind hehe they got it.

5. Pikachu13131 Member Member

why are the letters so big?

6. amanda2000 Initiate Member

could a mixture of those fish go together? if so how many? if not, what would be my options with those fish alone? Thank you! :)

7. codyrex97 Well Known Member Member