Help! New, with sick Betta.

LZ Floyd

Reaction score
HI folks, found your site while surfing for some answers about our sick fish.  I'm new to Bettas and the one I'm writing about belongs to my wife who isn't currently here.

This morning, I found the Betta in distress floating on it's side at the surface of the water; actually I thought it had expired until seeing some gill movement.  The fish was in a 1/2 gallon, tallish flower vase filled with tap water conditioned with Nutrafin Aqua Plus conditioner.  Apparently the water was two weeks old.

I changed out the water completely (new bowl and conditioned tap water) to see if it would help.  The setup has been moved to a room where the temperature is 74+ degrees to get the water temp warmed and regulated.

Since this morning the fish has shown some, albeit little, improvement; but, I've not raised his clinical status above "grave."  The fish, for the most part, will only float at the side of the bowl at the water's surface.  The only indication that it's alive is gill movement.  Occasionally it will dart around for a short time before floating to the surface again.

After the water warmed a bit, the fish became somewhat livelier and would eat (surprisingly).  Though it will chase food, it seems to wobble when moving through the water (if it doesn't completely rotate to one side) - kind of like the tail wagging the dog.  The underside of this bright blue fish is losing color and turning silver, and the tail looks like that seen in some of the "fin rot" pictures I saw earlier today while surfing.

Though it doesn't appear the fish will make it through the night, I'm looking for any suggestions you might have, cause you never know.

Peter243243

Reaction score
I think it's suffocating try more surface area and a larger tank half a gallon is cramped for any fish.

chickadee

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years