Help! New to cherry shrimps and have 2 questions !

1. r

rdizzle New Member Member

Hi I'm new to cherry shrimps. I recently got a 6 gal fishtank with 10 Galaxy rasboras set up last month and a friend of mine gave me 5 cherry shrimps including a pregnant one(as a surprise for me) . So 3 weeks in and now I only have 3 RCS left. Got home and saw one upside down and the other no where in site! Then I noticed 2 shrimpets in my tank from the pregnant RCS. First thing I did was run to the LFS to buy a sponge for my filter which I did not have!! My biggest fear was all the shrimpets being sucked up in my filter. So few days passed and now I see 8 shrimplets! Will I see more or did my filter eat up all my shrimplets? How many shrimplets come out per birth?

So regarding my 2 dead RCS. I went to the LFS and bought 3 more RCS. These didnt look as nice as the ones I originally had. The mother shrimp doesn't seem to happy with these newcomers in the tank. Should I take out the Sakura grade shrimps that I bought at the LFS and let my shrimplet grow or just leave it.

2. Aquarist

Aquarist Fishlore Legend Member

Hello and Welcome to Fish Lore!

Hopefully you will receive some responses before long.

Have fun and enjoy the forum!

Ken :)

3. OP
    OP
    r

5 rcs from my friend

4. OP
    OP
    r

The 2 different grandes of RCS in my tank. Makes me want to take the ones i bought at the LFS out

5. Tonia

Tonia Well Known Member Member

Hello Rdizzle and Welcome to Fishlore!!! I have got to say, those are some fabulous pictures of your shrimp! It is really hard to say how many shrimplets your mama shrimp may have had and how many you can expect, but you do have some good hiding places, so you may not see some of them until they are grown.