Help! - New Assassin Snail Dead?

1. Jess44246 Initiate Member

IMG_6236.JPG Today, I purchased my first Assassin Snail. I didn't really see the guy at the fish place but the snail in the plastic thing before putting it in the bag. I got home, let the bags float for 15 min, then took the critters out of the bags and put them in the tank, one of which was the assassin snail and the others were regular fish. My tank, 29 gallons, is 100% cycled and the water is perfect. The snail has not come out of the shell at all. The shell is not empty and it is not filled with substrate. I pulled him out of the water 2 hours later (now) and took this pic. I tried to tempt it out with a food snail, but no luck. I have no experience with aquatic snails besides the ones my pretty little assassin is supposed to eat. This may be me worrying over nothing or this may be me waiting and waiting and waiting for a dead snail to come out of it's shell. But if it was dead, wouldn't it have fallen out of the shell already? Please reply soon. I want to start killing off my little pest snails as soon as possible. Thanks! IMG_6236.JPG

2. BuddyD Member Member

Some snails, Nerites especially, will stay motionless for days at a time. Being moved to a new location may be why your snail is not in motion.

3. PraptiPanda Member Member

Looks like his trapdoor is shut- pretty receded, in fact. Assassin's, in my experience, are initially shy. He may need time to adjust to your water parameters. Meanwhile, do the smell test on him to see whether he's alive. Have you tried switching your light off for some time? My assassins only become active when it's dark out.

4. Jess44246 Initiate Member