Help Needed With Extremely Overstocked Aquarium

YummySashimi
HI guys,

I've been on firelore for a while and this is my first time posting.

My friend, who is a complete beginner at fishkeeping just decided to get 8 kois and put them into a large ceramic goldfish bowl, which under my estimation, hold at most 20gals of water with no filtration. Naturally, I told her koi are pond fish and should not be kept under such conditions and that she's severely overstocked and suggested she should return them and get a couple of goldfish and a filter instead. She wouldn't listen, then I suggest she should at least get a canister filter for those poor fish, which she also refused. I don't think she would do the daily water change I recommended either...

I don't want those fish to die but there's little I can do. Maybe I can talk her into getting an internal filter for then but I think that's about it. Is there something else that I can do? Please help.

Attached are the pics she sent me, just to give u an idea how horrible the situation is.

Attachments

• 0406_1.jpg
    0406_1.jpg
    67.6 KB · Views: 163
  • 0406_2.jpg
    0406_2.jpg
    42.6 KB · Views: 170
Demeter
Some people are too stuborn to listen. Your friend will probably have to learn the hard way at the price of the fishs’ lives.

You could show him/her pics of adult koi and asking if they can imagine 8 adult koi in that bowl. Give it to them straight, those fish will die soon.

If you are not too concerned about your friend getting mad, I’d frame a wild raccoon or cat for eating the koi (happens often in my area) and take the fish to a koi-friendly pond.

YummySashimi
Thanks for replying Demeter. They'll die within a week is what I told her, but still, she had no intentions of returning them. I would literally do what u suggested if she keeps the fish outside but they're indoors. I mean they have a better chance of surviving in the river than in that bowl.