Help my fish are sick

1. aprilcomer Initiate Member

:'(My black angelfish just died last night and it was covered in a whiteish creamy film all over his body. This was basically only noticeable when he was under the lights. I noticed this a couple of days ago but since I'm new at this I thought it might be part of his coloration until it was also covering his eye too. My catfish also died that morning along with a neon but they had no symptoms that I could see. So I think the only reason that I could see it on the angel is because he was black. Someone please help me I need to know what this is and how to treat it!!!!! :'(

2. 0morrokh Fishlore VIP Member

The site www.bettatalk.com is really about Bettas, but it has lots of info about diseases and cures. You'll probably need to do a partial water change and use some kind of medication if they're sick (don't forget to remove the filter carbon, as it absorbs medication). Has you're tank finished going through the Nitrogen Cycle? If it hasn't, that could be what's killing your fish. There's tons of information about the Nitrogen Cycle on this site, so if that's your problem or if you are unformiliar with that term, please read all about it and test your Ammonia/Nitrite/Nitrate levels. I recommend the product Cycle if this is the case. Also make sure you have proper pH and temperature. On the other hand, your tank may be well established and with proper conditions, and in that case your going to need to diagnose the disease(sorry, I can't help with so little information) and treat it. Also, raising the temperature to 80 or 85 F if your fish can take it, and adding some aquarium salt, a tablespoon per 5 gallons if you are not already doing so(it is a good idea as it helps prevent disease), will help get rid of nasty little bugs.

In short,
    If your aquarium hasn't finished the Nitrogen Cycle, try using Cycle to speed it up, and do frequent partial water changes
    Make sure your temp. and pH levels are OK